Master Bathroom Remodel

Last February, I had the first meeting with my client for a master bath remodel. It was your basic late 90’s/early 2000’s bathroom. Jacuzzi tub, cubed window, whitewashed cabinets… My client had a great budget and was on board with a full gut of the bathroom. Just what you want to hear as a designer 🙂

After walking through the bathroom and talking with my client about their wish list, the designing began.

Client wishlist: free standing tub, steam shower, his & hers vanities and plenty of storage.

My design wishlist: marble, brass, modern/boho vibe, luxurious, relaxing/spa like

When designing a bathroom, I like to start with the tile first. I found this 8 inch marble hex that I LOVED and knew it was going to be the showpiece of the space. I wanted the hex to cover every wall and I chose a 12×24 ceramic gray tile laid in a herringbone for the floor.

After nailing down all of the tile, next up was the plumbing fixtures and finishes. I went with brass and modern fixtures. After tile & plumbing fixtures, next up was the layout. Since this was a complete gut, I was basically working with a shell so I could pretty much do whatever I wanted with the layout.

Here are a couple of inspiration photos:

above-the-tub-pendant-full-height-marble-bathroom-backsplash.jpg

master-remodel-55-of-61.jpg

Now for some photos of the bathroom…

Before:

img_4615

To the right of the window was the old steam shower:

img_4602

To the left of the window was her vanity:

img_4600

The window got quite the facelift. We removed the plantation shutters and added/painted the trim work black to resemble the look of a steel window.

Here’s the after:

20161104-47

Her vanity area before:

img_4599

After:

20161104-53.jpg

The cubed window was above the jacuzzi tub which all got ripped out and is now where the new steam shower is.

Before:

img_4606

After:

We closed off the cubed window for the shower and added a small window beside it for more natural light!

20161104-55

His vanity used to be here, with the steam shower to the left of that closet door:

img_4610

This is how it looks now:

We did a built in for plenty of storage where his vanity used to be and moved his vanity where the steam shower used to be!

20161104-43.jpg

Center view:

20161104-52.jpg

Her side:

20161104-49.jpg

His side:

20161104-50

Now for some detail shots of the shower:

This shower has everything…steam control , aromatherapy, rain head, hand held spray.

20161104-15.jpg

Marble and brass…all the heart eyes!!

20161104-21.jpg

Side view:

20161104-60.jpg

Now for some detail shots of the tub:

20161104-9.jpg

20161104-66.jpg

20161104-70.jpg

I will leave you with one more before and after!

Before:

img_4600

After:

20161104-49.jpg

This was such a fun project for me and I can’t wait for my next remodel!

Thanks for stopping by!

xoxo,

O

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

